Too school for cool

We’ve been going back and forth for a century
[Keynes] I want to steer markets,
[Hayek] I want them set free
There’s a boom and bust cycle and good reason to fear it
[Hayek] Blame low interest rates.
[Keynes] No… it’s the animal spirits

from Econstories.tv

Experiencing Russ Roberts‘ latest media venture is only comparable to watching the Office. It makes me want to crawl into a dark, noiseless place. The difference is that after the TV series, I am always comforted knowing that it is fiction and meant in jest. I don’t get the same feeling after “The Hip Hop Macro Anthem” (letting slip an analysis of the title). In the Office, Ricky Gervais’s David Brent thinks he is smart, attractive, and popular, but because every attempt at getting recognition from his peers fails, because his words and actions are always followed by awkward silence, he and we known that he is none of those things. Does Russ Roberts’ know this isn’t smart, or attractive or popular?

Paul Solman of PBS has covered the topic, but I don’t think he finds it cool either…

updated 27th January 2010…

4 thoughts on “Too school for cool

  1. If I were to judge the debate between Russ Roberts and Paul Skidelsky – which I thought was telling – I’d say Skidelsky came out looking the winner. Calm, with reference to current issues and logical answers to the questions posed, where Roberts would rather divert the topic away from discussing long-term unemployment to saying if only there was no government and no interference then the world would have been ok. His references to the budget deficits and waste I thought were good deflections but Lord Skidelsky looked to have an answer each time. Maybe that’s just me.

    (The rap was… well… fun but with an awkward silence at the end frankly)

  2. Jon, cheers for the pidgeon holing!
    I dislike it because it makes me cringe, an instinctive unthoughtful movement of the spinal cord. I like economists jokes like any good economist, but this might be too much for me, I am insufficiently socialized into the profession to see the fun.

  3. Tiago,

    I’m still not convinced that I was “pigeon holing”, but alas my intent was not to come off as belligerent.

    In any case, I’m not so sure that you should go as far as to say that nobody will find it entertaining. I’m sure that a lot of people dislike the idea, and I can see where they are coming from, but Russ’ project has found some support (to what extent, I am unsure) amongst other students of economics.

Leave a Reply

